Broadcaster Magazine

BravoFACTUAL Announces Award Recipients for December

  • el
  • pt

  • Bell Media’s BravoFACT (Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent) announced today the eight BravoFACTUAL award recipients from the December 11 jury meeting. A total of $360,000 was awarded to Canadian filmmakers for the production of short documentary films. This month, BravoFACT is also pleased to announce the addition of CTV’s W5 award-winning investigative reporter Victor Malarek as a guest juror.

    Continuing to establish itself on both national and international platforms, it was announced earlier this week that David Ridgen’s BravoFACT-funded film Love Song for the Apocalypse, will have its world premiere at Utah’s Slamdance 2024 in January. Recent successes by BravoFACT-funded shorts also include five BravoFACT-funded films – Julia Julep, The Portal, The Match, Bastards, and Detention – that were represented at the 2024 Edmonton International Film Festival in September.

    The BravoFACTUAL fund recipients from the December 11, 2024 jury meeting are:

    · The Carollers –Theresa Wynnyk (Director/Producer)

    · Conversations With A Dead Prime Minister – Daniel Roher (Director), Kristy Neville (Producer), Jamie Kastner (Producer)

    · The Mennonite Joke – Orlando Braun (Director), Jorge Requena (Producer)

    · My Brother The Outlaw – Adam Gray (Director/Producer), Andrew Gray (Director)

    · The Night I Shot Marilyn – Matt Zimbel (Director/Producer), JF Graton (Director)

    · One Big Breath – Duncan McDowall (Director/Producer)

    · Terranova Matadora – Carolyn Hayward – Rhonda Buckley (Director/Producer)

    · Tilting At Windmills – Matt Gallagher (Director), John Doherty (Director), Cornelia Principe (Producer)

    The next submission deadline for BravoFACTUAL is April 1, 2024. The next submission deadline for BravoFACT is May 15, 2024.

    For information about program requirements and application guidelines, visit