Broadcaster Magazine

SiriusXM Canada Unveils Semi-Finalists in Top Comic Search

  • el
  • pt

  • SiriusXM Canada  has announced the 18 semi-finalists in SiriusXM’s Top Comic nationwide comedy search. Now it’s up to Canadians to select which comics will make the cut to perform at the SiriusXM Top Comic Finale this September as part of Just For Laughs’ JFL42 Comedy Festival in Toronto.

    Canadians can view the semi-finalists’ videos and vote for their favourite comedians once a day. At the end of the voting period, the eight comics with the most votes will compete on stage at the Finale for the title of SiriusXM’s Top Comic and the competition’s biggest grand prize yet — $25,000. The winner will also receive a guaranteed spot at three of Canada’s biggest comedy festivals in 2023: JFL42 (Toronto), JFL NorthWest (Vancouver), and the Just For Laughs Festival in Montreal, including the televised JFL: All Access, airing on The Comedy Network. Two runners up will receive TV spots at the 2023 Just For Laughs Festival in Montreal, as well as a double-threat show at JFL42 2023. The Finale will feature a performance by a TBA headliner and will take place at the Queen Elizabeth Theatre on September 29, 2023.

    This past June, SiriusXM selected 72 Canadian comics from across the country to audition in either Toronto or Vancouver across six nights, all hosted by Ben Miner, Canadian comic and host of SiriusXM’s Canada Laughs channel. A panel of industry judges selected three comics from each audition night to move on to the next phase, resulting in 18 semi-finalists.


    The SiriusXM Top Comic 2023 semi-finalists are:

    Kevin Banner
    John Beuhler
    Sophie Buddle
    Abdul Butt
    Chuck Byrn
    Graham Clark
    Mark Debonis
    Mike Delamont
    Che Durena
    Mayce Galoni
    Chris Gaskin
    Christopher Griffin
    Tom Henry
    Julia Hladkowicz
    Ted Morris
    Tim Nutt
    Chris Robinson
    K Trevor Wilson

    Finalists will be announced later this summer.

    Top Comic is part of SiriusXM Canada’s ongoing initiatives to provide exposure to Canadian talent. Last year, Montreal’s Derek Seguintook home the title and grand prize, with Matt Billon of Vancouver and Jordan Welwood of Winnipeg placing as runners-up. Previous winners include Faisal Butt, Pete Zedlacher, Eric Andrews, Matt O’Brien and Brian Stollery.